Travel To USA | US | America |History Culture Documentary |

Official Name: United States of America
Population: 324, 057, 300
Form of Government: Constitution-based federal republic
Capital: Washington, D.C.
Area: 9, 826, 630 square kilometres
Major Mountain Ranges: Rocky Mountains, Appalachian Mountains
Major Rivers: Mississippi, Missouri, Colorado
Languages: English, Spanish
Money: U.S. dollar

Geography of the USA

The United States of America(often referred to as the USA, or simply the US) is the world”s third largest country in size (after Russiaand Canada) and the third largest in terms of population (after Chinaand India). Located in North America, the country is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean, and on the east by the Atlantic Ocean. Along the northern border is Canada, and along the southern border is Mexico. There are 50 states and the District of Columbia.
More than twice the size of the European Union, the United States has high mountains in the West and a vast, central plain. The lowest point in the country is in Death Valley, which sits 86m below sea level, and the highest peak is Mount McKinley, standing a whopping 6,198m tall.

Landscape, wildlife and nature of the USA

The landscape varies across this large country – from the tropical beaches of Florida to the snowy peaks of the Rocky Mountains, from the rolling prairie lands and barren deserts in the west to the huge areas of dense wilderness in the north. Interspersed throughout are the Great Lakes, the Grand Canyon, the majestic Yosemite Valley and the mighty Mississippi River.

History of the USA

For centuries, native peoples lived across the vast expanse that would become the United States of America. In the early 17th century, settlers moved from Europe to the ‘New World’, established colonies and displaced the native peoples.

The settlers fought for their independence from Britain in the late 18th century and formed a union of states based on a new constitution. The nation continued to expand westward and, although the country is a relatively young nation, it has become a global power since declaring independence from Britain on July 4, 1776.

European settlers came to New England in search of religious freedom. These states are Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.

The mid-Atlantic region includes Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and the city of Washington, D.C. These industrial areas attracted millions of European immigrants and gave rise to some of the East Coast”s largest cities – New York, Baltimore and Philadelphia.

The South includes Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. These states all struggled in the years following the American Civil War, which lasted from 1860-1865.